Greens and Gaga

Things were off to an early start this morning with 8 miles of jogging/walking at my favorite Des Moines park, Gray’s Lake.  My ma and I are planning on the DSM half marathon in October (as are my brother and sister-in-law).  I don’t really know what I’m doing, and should probably find a training plan, eh?  I was only going to go 6 miles, but then my ipod happened upon some Lady Gaga.  I have a few hard and fast life rules, and one of them is “don’t disappoint Lady G.”  Afterwards, I pulled out the blender for a glorious green monster.  Behold my blender, once owned by Florence Henderson:

I know green monsters are not breaking news with the healthy foodie blogger crowd, but if you have never tried this marvel, TRUST ME.  Put as much spinach in your blender as you think you can handle.  Then I usually add half of a banana, one cup of almond milk (or soy, or cow, etc. etc.), and a little bit of cinnamon.  If you’re feeling sassy you can add some strawberries.  Add some cocoa powder.  I don’t care–just so you’ve got the spinach.  Then blend the crap out of it (because nobody likes chewing a smoothie), and drink up.

Don’t be surprised if you start hearing the theme from Rocky after you drink it.  Major kudos to super-blogger Angela for this creation!  I made one for my mom and enjoyed mine while still sweaty and disgusting from workout-time in the lovely IA humidity.

Then I did some job-search-type stuff.  Well, I exaggerate.  Mostly I got out a legal pad and looked at some stuff on my computer and furrowed my brow a lot.  Baby steps.  Later, I created a little something with more of the giant zucchini from our garden.  Yesterday it was noodles, today it’s dessert!  Vegetables–is there anything they can’t do?  I like to begin baking projects at 3:30, so I can cook alongside my gal pals Giada and Ina.

Giada looks just as happy to be here as I am, doesn’t she?  Here’s what I threw in the bowl:

  • 4 tbsp butter, at room temp
  • 1/2  c. plain yogurt (I usually use Fage, but we had some mystery yogurt today.)
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 c. white flour
  • 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon (consensus on the home front was that this could be increased a bit)
  • 1/2 c. grated zucchini, with the water squeezed out using your hands or a colander and spoon
  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 3 oz. chocolate, chopped into chunk form

Cream the butter, yogurt, and sugar, and then add the egg.  When you’ve got things well-incorporated, add the grated zuke.  Add the dry ingredients, mix well, and fold in the chocolate chunks.  Bake in a greased 8×8 at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.  Voila:

I tried one (while watching the Barefoot Contessa, of course) and it was pretty good.  Be forewarned–they taste kind of “wholesome.”  But, as one who drinks cups of salad for breakfast, I’m generally a fan of wholesome.  Farewell for now, whoever happens to read this (aka Mom)!

5 responses to “Greens and Gaga

  1. Eureka! This food looks healthy and fabulous! Lady Gaga also inspires me, but usually to put on high heels and “just dance” or to get involved in a “bad romance.” I have found that there is little that inspires me to run (caveat: animal attack). After reading your blog I went out and spent my last $25.00 on spinach and fruit and vodka (I understand that vodka is not a part of your recipe, but to each her own). Unfortch I don’t own a blender…may I substitute a hand mixer? I feel like the effect is SOMEWHAT similar.

    Your fan,
    Large Marge

    • Hahahahahaha oh Marge….I have never made a hybrid green monster/cocktail, but it just might be worth a try. And I don’t have high hopes about your hand mixer idea. I’ll bring over my blender 🙂 (P.S. the sudden laughter brought on by this comment caused me to have spinach smoothie up my nose, so thank you for THAT.)

  2. She who sings in the shower. Could be a ‘criss cross applesauce’ name. lol.
    I just wanted to say that i loved the flower in the picture too. very good staging! you inspire me to be more of a ‘cook’. For example, yesterday after working out from 6:30-8 (butts & guts & then zumba!) and then talking on the phone w/ my mom – it was 10pm and i still hadn’t had dinner!!! so thanks to your inspiration… I had a slice of pb toast with my popcorn for dinner. true story.

  3. love the site aunt darcy!

Leave a Reply

