Simple, Mellow, Green & Yellow

More vegetable chopping last night.  It’s one of my favorite past-times.  (People will tell you I’m a real mellow girl.  The fact is I just take out all my anger on innocent squashes, onions, and the like.)  The first victim was the second patty-pan squash from my most recent farmer’s market haul.  I had never seen these things before this summer, but look how cute it is:

I chopped it up along with a couple handfuls of beans.  (The girl at the market told me they were “Chinese beans.”  They appeared to be…giant green beans.)  Salt, pepper, drizzle of olive oil, and into the oven at 400 for about 15 minutes.

While the veggies were meeting their cruel fate in the oven, I boiled about 4 ounces of orzo.  When everything was ready, I tossed together veggies, orzo, a clove of minced garlic, oregano, and some crumbled feta.  Then I drizzled with a bit of olive oil, put in the zest and juice of one lemon, salted and peppered, and threw in a handful of spinach to wilt with the heat of the pasta.  (This blog is not sponsored by Spinach, Inc., I swear.  Green just happens to be my favorite color.)  Here’s the finished product and run-down of everything I used:

Patty-pan Orzo

  • 1 patty-pan squash, chopped
  • 2 big handfuls fresh green beans, cut into about inch-long pieces (try to make the veggies uniform in size so they cook evenly)
  • 4 oz. orzo, cooked according to package directions
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • about 1 tbsp. chopped fresh oregano (if you use dried oregano, start smaller–that stuff is strong!)
  • 1/4 to 1/2 c. crumbled feta
  • handful of coarsely chopped spinach
  • olive oil, to taste
  • zest and juice from one lemon

And your game plan: Chop veggies and toss on a sheet pan with salt, pepper, and a drizzle of olive oil.  Roast at 400 degrees for 10-15 minutes (this may vary depending on how finely you chopped them).  Boil and drain the orzo.  Mince one clove of garlic, chop your oregano and spinach, zest the lemon and juice it over the orzo.  Toss everything together, add a little salt and pepper, and get yourself a glass of wine, my friend.

You could definitely do the very same thing with the standard yellow squash you see in the grocery store.  Or a zucchini.  Or any similar veggie, really–who am I to boss you around?  Anyway, these little bites also came to the dinner party, thanks to my madre:

(Toppers there: more feta, sundried tomato, and just a liiiiiittle more spinach)  This was well-timed carbo-fueling, because this morning I rode a 19 mile bike trail with my dad, who decided to ride his bike 1000 miles this summer and has lost over 30 pounds.  How’s about that, huh?  He’ll just have to have an entire post dedicated to his fab transformation, complete with a quinoa recipe that he now chows on instead of pulled pork.  Stay tuned for that gem!  It was a great ride, and when I got home I snapped some garden pics before hitting the shower.

I’m going to miss this little paradise when I pack up and head back to school soon!  Luckily, I also miss my lawyer-school friends and can’t wait to see them all again and start being very serious.

Have a lovely day, cyberspace!

10 responses to “Simple, Mellow, Green & Yellow

  1. These dishes look so sturdevant! I question what this “patty-pan” squash is. What is the meaning behind it’s name? Could you regale us with this story? Also, could you think of a dessert option for this luscious veg-e-table? I’m thinking something that involves red velvet cake and ancho chilies.

  2. I enjoyed reading your blog, Darcy. I thought of my Turkish daughter-in-law as she loves all of those things and would admire your generous use of feta! Good luck as you begin another year at school 🙂

  3. I just love your blog. You have inspired me. I am making homemade tortillas for our tacos tonight. I can’t wait for the quinoa recipe. I’m starting to experiment with different grains. On Sunday I made some bulgur wheat stuffed peppers.

  4. Where is the beef???

  5. What a lovely recipe. I’m going to make your patty-pan orzo for dinner tomorrow. I wonder if the Iowa City Farmer’s Markets are good. We should investigate!

Leave a Reply

