Peachy keen, jelly bean

I’m currently clinging desperately to the idea that summer is going to go on forever.  In keeping up this little ruse, it helps to surround myself with summery sights and smells…and what could be more summery than the smell of peaches in a brown paper bag?

My brother Mark and his family usually come over to my parents’ for dinner about once a week, and when I’m around I like to make something decent to contribute.  (You know, they do some nice things for me, like untangling my Microsoft Word dilemmas and having really cute kids.)  Today I was feeling particularly peachy.  Now, my mom never buys peaches because she’s always lamenting that she “doesn’t know how to pick good ones.”  I say just indiscriminately pick up a few that smell decent and hope for the best.  (Feel free to adopt that as your new dating policy as well.)  If you get them home and they’re no good, you can just bake them or stick them in a paper bag for a few days.  (That, of course, will not translate so well to dating, just so we’re clear.)

I wanted to put together a peach crumble without all kinds of sugar and butter.  I’m not generally a huge fan of fruit desserts because they can be mushy and very sweet, which really isn’t necessary when fruit is already lovely on its own.  These were fresh-tasting and great for dessert, but I also think they’d be a pretty stellar brunch item, topped with some Greek yogurt and a drizzle of honey.

Peach and Blueberry Crumble (fills 5 ramekins)

  • 4 firm, medium-sized peaches
  • 1/2 c. blueberries (I would probably increase this next time around.)
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • zest and juice from 1/2 of a lemon
  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp sliced almonds
  • 1 tbsp coconut
  • 1 tbsp butter

Put the peaches in boiling water for 30-60 seconds and then immediately drop them into a bowl of cold water.  Peel the peaches (this shouldn’t be too hard thanks to the boiling water, but use a paring knife if needed) and slice them into wedges.  Toss the peaches, blueberries, sugar, flour, and lemon juice and zest in a large bowl and set it aside.  In another bowl, combine the oats, almonds, brown sugar, coconut, and butter.  (I used cold butter, and a fork to get it well-incorporated.)  Grease the ramekins, divide the fruit evenly between them, and then top each one with an equal amount of crumbly goodness.  I baked at 350 for 30 minutes, which got the fruit mixture nice and bubbly but didn’t turn the peaches to mush.  Serve warm or at room temperature.  (A small scoop of vanilla ice cream is not required but highly recommended.)

‘Twas a great night with beautiful weather and fantastic company, including my wonderful friend-since-fourth-grade Tracy…

…the always-delightful baby nephew (other nephew not pictured because he runs around too fast to be photographed)…

…and my lovely niece, who figured out how to put a picture on my homepage when I couldn’t and also has cooler shoes than me 🙂

It’s now time for packing, the great Iowa State Fair, a return to my apartment at school, and a triumphant reunion with some dearly-missed friends!  Go pick up some peaches and have yourself a wonderful week.

 

Leave a Reply

