Maple Pecan Monday

One of my favorite food blogs, Hangry Pants, is having a little event tomorrow called “Macaroon Monday.”  The idea is to make something you’ve never made before or something that you find somewhat intimidating, and then post about it.  I love Heather’s blog because 1) her recipes are easy/healthy/delicious and 2) she went to law school and refuses to let go of her love for the Baby-sitters Club series, so we’re clearly kindred spirits.

In the spirit of this little blogger initiative, I decided to make pecan butter.  This was sort of cheating on my part, in terms of the “something you’ve never made before” angle, because I once tried to make peanut butter as a finals-studying-avoidance tactic.  But it was pretty much a disaster and I had to throw it all away and return, pouting, to my books and outlines.  Not this time, faithful readers!  This time I rose to the nut butter challenge and the results were pretty stellar.  First, I tossed the pecans with maple syrup, cinnamon, and some salt.

Then, I toasted the pecans at 300 degrees for 10 minutes, opening the oven once to stir.

The smell in my kitchen at this point was something the folks at Yankee Candle should really try to recreate.  After the toasted pecans had cooled for about 10 minutes, I scraped them all into my beloved food processor.

The processing took about five minutes, I would say.  You’ll need to stop several times throughout and scrape down the sides…and eventually you’ll have this!

Store it in the fridge…

…and prepare for weeks of delicious toast!  Here’s the recipe:

Maple Pecan Butter

  • 2 cups pecan halves
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Toss the pecan halves with the syrup, cinnamon, and salt, pour onto a sheet pan, and toast them for 10 minutes at 300 degrees, stirring once.  When the pecans are mostly cooled, scrape them into a food processor and process until smooth (about five minutes), stopping frequently to scrape the sides of the food processor bowl.

Update on last week’s curse: I think we’re out of the woods.  Although this happened a few days ago…

…I still feel pretty lucky.  I got to have a wonderful Halloween weekend with some fantastic friends…

 

…there was a wine tasting with my P.E.O. sisters…

…and my adorable little nephew turned 1!

The funfetti cake in his hair indicates a level of commitment to dessert that I can really respect, you know?

Have a lovely week!

6 responses to “Maple Pecan Monday

  1. Nice picture of Cal. But the picture at the point taken was the tip of the iceberg. Can’t wait for a couple more years to see him slathered in some BBQ.

  2. Of course I’ll have a lovely week now that I’ve had your delightful post to start it off!

  3. Pingback: Who Tried Something New? | Hangry Pants

  4. Oh my goodness that Maple Pecan Butter sounds amazing. I have got to get a food processor! (Been dropping major hints to the husband for Christmas.) I may have to just make the toasted maple pecans in the meantime. I bet they taste delicious whole.

  5. Good job on the maple pecan butter! That would probably taste good mixed into vanilla ice cream.

  6. Maples and pecans? Yum!

Leave a Reply

