Chili for Justice

Today was the annual Equal Justice Foundation Chili Cook-off at my home-away-from-home, the Boyd Law Building.  Because I am an ardent supporter of law students doing public interest work, as well as any event that allows me to bring a kitchen appliance to school, I made a batch of chili.

5-5-2010 021

Alas, it was not the winning entry, but it’s still good, I promise!  See—these ladies thought so:

5-5-2010 022

There was some excellent competition–check out this line-up:

When looking for a recipe to start from, I went straight to the ultimate online emporium of deliciousness, the Whole Foods website.  I used one of their veggie chili recipes for inspiration, but modified it because it involved eggplant, and I thought eggplant in chili sounded a little sketchy.  I used acorn squash instead—roasted at 400 for about 30 minutes.

5-5-2010 006

I drizzled it with olive oil, sprinkled with salt and pepper, put a bit of water in the bottom of the pan, and covered with foil before roasting.  Because that’s what my mom does, and that’s a good enough reason for anything, I think.

Saute  the onion, garlic, corn kernels, and jalapeno in a tablespoon or so of olive oil for about 5 minutes, and then add the spices.

5-5-2010 008

Then add the beans, tomatoes, and veggie stock and simmer until your chili intuition tells you you’re on the home stretch.  (I’d say I let it go for about 20 minutes.)  Add the acorn squash (just scrape it out of the skin and break it up in the chili as you stir) for the last 5-10 minutes of cooking.  Finally, add the lime zest and juice just before serving and stir.

5-5-2010 017

Acorn Chili

  • 1 c. frozen corn kernels, defrosted
  • 1 acorn squash, cut in half, seeds scraped out, and roasted until tender
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 of a large onion, diced (or one small)
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, diced (seeds and ribs included for spice)
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 15 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 15 oz. can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 15 oz. can tomatoes (the fire-roasted kind are the best, I think)
  • 2 cups veggie stock/broth (add more towards the end if you’d like thinner chili)
  • zest and juice of one lime

Saute the onion, corn kernels, minced garlic, and jalapeno until softened and fragrant (5 minutes or so).  Add the spices and stir.  Next, add the beans, tomatoes, and veggie stock and simmer for 20-25 minutes.  Scoop the flesh of the roasted acorn squash into the chili and simmer for another 10 minutes, breaking up the squash as you stir.  Add the lime zest and juice just before serving.

8 responses to “Chili for Justice

  1. —–and you thought you could win without hamburger??? Grandpa E advises that you stick to legal matters.

  2. I would like to say some things:

    -It is HIGH TREASON that you did not place first at this contest of crock-pots. I suspect that those students and faculty that voted for the animal bi-product entries are saturated with meat sweats at this very moment.

    -This acorn porridge is truly akin to the nectar of the gods. I don’t know if my mouth tasted before it tasted this dish.

    -I blame a couple-o-professors I saw stealing your corn muffins for use with other chili dishes. After witnessing this abomination I stood next to your chili for a while with a fly swatter, warding off predators. This may have had an ill-effect on the voting populous. My badzies.

    As always, LOVE MARGE

  3. Pingback: Recipe Link Love, March 19 — Oh She Glows

  4. This looks delish. Thanks for the recipe, we aren’t vegetarians but I do like to cook tasty meatless meals! Satisfying is a must!

  5. I made this for dinner tonight. My mom can’t eat spicy so I didn’t use the jalapeno and very light on the cayanne (I just added my own hot sauce) and I must say, this chili is wonderful!!!!
    I normally will adjust recipes after I make them the first time but I won’t be changing anything in the recipe! Well done!
    One question about the squash, when I added it, and I may have overcooked it, it “melted” into the chili instead of stayin in chucks. Is that what it is supposed to do? I like it that way but I am wondering if that is “correct”.

  6. Pingback: All about Herbie (+ a little about chili) | She Sings at the Table

Leave a Reply

