Ch-ch-ch-ch-cherry prom

I’m all tuckered out from Law Prom last night.  But, there are people out there that need baked goods, and when I bake things that turn out well I feel the need to share them with you….so….look at these!

OMGdelicious!  But first—prom!  Yesterday was what we’ll call a “break” from the 21-day cleanse.  There is nothing “cleansing” about bargain basement sparkling wine from a red Solo cup.  Or 2:00 a.m. pizza with macaroni and cheese on top.

5-5-2010 0075-5-2010 009

However, I think we could say that fun and frivolity is…mentally cleansing.  So, I maintain that the day was, in fact, yet another step in my journey to health and vibrancy.

Today I made scones for a delivery later this week.  And, because the recipe worked so well (and because sometimes I’m lazy), I’m just going to give you the link and then tell you how I adapted the recipe instead of writing it all out.

Why say things over again when Ina has already said them so well?

Instead of orange-cranberry, I decided to make these cherry-almond.  Here’s all you need to know about scones: keep the butter cold, people!  Cold butter = flakiness = deliciousness.  Get everything ready to go before you take the butter out of the fridge and dice it up to put it in the dough.  If you want to be really on the ball, put your flour in the freezer ahead of time.

Roll, cut, egg wash, and get ‘em in the oven as fast as you can.  Time is of the essence!

(I don’t have a 3-inch round biscuit cutter like Ina suggests, so I used a cherry pie filling can.  Always on-theme around here.)

Here are the changes I made to the original recipe linked above:

  • Omitted the orange zest
  • Replaced the dried cranberries with dried cherries
  • Omitted the orange juice
  • Added 1/2 c. sliced almonds to the dough with the dried cherries
  • Added 1/2 tsp almond extract to the heavy cream and eggs before adding them to the dough

I’m going to freeze these and deliver them to someone later this week, but before I do I’ll let them thaw and glaze them with a mixture of almond milk, confectioner’s sugar, and almond extract. Then I’ll sprinkle each one with more sliced almonds, because baked goods need garnishes (much like cocktail dresses need accessories).

I hope you all have a marvelous week!

One response to “Ch-ch-ch-ch-cherry prom

  1. You look faaaabulous!

Leave a Reply

