Homemade Milanos and spring break

I’m on vacation for a whole glorious week!  Soon I’ll be flying to Vermont to spend some time with a fabulous lady I’ve been friends with for a long time.  A very long time…

mom's pics 4

(Yes, I had a mullet as a child.  We all have things in our past we’re not proud of.)

Until I leave the state, though, I’m hanging around my parents’ house for a couple of days and making a mess of their kitchen.

I recently discovered the Post Punk Kitchen website, home to all kinds of super-exciting vegan recipes from Isa Chandra Moskovitz, co-author of “Veganomicon” and “Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World,” which are perhaps the best-named cookbooks ever.  When I surfed my way into a recipe for vegan Milano cookies, I knew it was meant to be.

I have a deep and abiding love for Milano cookies—if you’re not familiar, they’re crunchy, buttery sandwich cookies with chocolate in the middle, brought to you by the good folks at Pepperidge Farm.  They come in dainty little fluted paper cups, so you feel sort of refined when you eat them.  This recipe worked really well (who needs eggs and butter?), so I’ll just throw in a few pictures here for your reference and then mention the revisions I made.

5-5-2010 0245-5-2010 005

5-5-2010 0105-5-2010 011

5-5-2010 0165-5-2010 023

These are better than the real thing.  They might as well shut down the Pepperidge Farm.  Well…no, then there would be nobody to make the goldfish crackers.  But anyway, check out the link above to the recipe.  Here are the only revisions I made:

  • I didn’t use any orange zest.  I think it would be nice, actually, but I didn’t have an orange.
  • I added about 1/2 tsp vegetable shortening to the chocolate while melting it over a double boiler.  I like to do that when I want extra-shiny melted chocolate.
  • I used almond milk instead of rice milk.
  • I baked them on parchment paper-lined cookie sheets.

I’ll be back in a week, perhaps with some Vermont-themed cuisine.  (I’m not quite sure what that would be….but….maple syrup?  Ben & Jerry’s Phish Food?)  Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

