Study buddies

Another week of lawyer school is upon us.  Some of us have just realized that finals aren’t really that far away.

Some of us are legal superstars with important projects due soon.

And some of us are just generally cranky.

None of us will survive without study snacks.

I’ve made granola bars before (and posted the recipe here), but these are better.  They’re easy, infinitely adaptable, and practically guaranteed to make you smarter and/or more organized.

Chocolate Chip Toffee Granola Bars (makes 9-12)

  • 1 2/3 c. oats
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1/3 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 c. sliced almonds
  • 1/3 c. toffee bits
  • 1/3 c. chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 6 tbsp melted butter or Earth Balance
  • 2 tbsp honey (I think you could probably substitute agave nectar or brown rice syrup.)
  • 1 small, overripe banana, mashed

Preheat your oven to 350, and line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper.  (This made removing the bars a cinch, but if you don’t have parchment just grease the pan.)  In a large bowl, mix the oats, sugar, whole wheat flour, salt, almonds, toffee, and chocolate chips.  In a smaller bowl, combine the vanilla, melted butter, honey, and mashed banana.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry, and stir to coat.  Press the mixture firmly into the 8×8 pan, and bake for about 30 minutes.  Let cool completely, and then slice into bars.

8 responses to “Study buddies

  1. Faboosh! My heart and soul warms to the touch when I think about you kids and your finals studyin’. Do you think I could make this (reci)procity with ground up cinnamon teddy grahams rather than oats? I seem to have lots of excess because when I’m mad I like to bite their heads off…but I generally don’t have use for the rest of their corpses. Thoughts on this?

  2. Marjorie: This is a fine idea, flavor-wise, but I fear the teddy grahams would result in over-crumbly granola bars. A better use would be in a graham cracker crust for some banoffee pie. Thank you for your inquiries…..they are always most interesting…

  3. Elmer Eggimann

    I’m sure these bars would go well with a big dish of ice cream with chunks of peanut butter. Hang in there. there is light at the end of the tunnel. LOL

  4. THIS IS SOUNDS DE-LAUCE-IOUS. Do you think I could make this with actual bear meat? I seem to have lots of excess because I’m a lawyer by trade, hunter by hobby. I generally DO have a use for their corpses, but there are only so many taxidermied bears that one can fit at a tea table.

  5. You might share with Margie and all your readers the recipe for the chocolate chip cheese ball. While not particularly healthy, it does go well with any body part of a Teddy Graham.

  6. I’ll have to remember this recipe for next year. I’ll take any granola-boosted academic help I can get! P.S. I finally found a roommate and an apartment!

Leave a Reply

