Funny vegetables

Hello, friends! I hope all is well where you are. I know things are usually all sunshine and lollipops around this blog, but I must admit that lately I’ve been feeling a little…..blaaaaaah. Studying for the bar exam isn’t exactly fun, and although I enjoy hanging out with my family here in Des Moines, I miss a lot of friends back in Iowa City. It’s just a weird, in-between kind of feeling. Plus, I caught a really gross cold and I haven’t been to Zumba in weeks. No, months! BAH!

This evening I decided to take some initiative, ignore the bar exam paced study schedule, and bolster my mood with two all-time favorites. First, my favorite movie:

“Funny Girl” speaks to my very soul. I’m about 85% sure I was Fanny Brice (comedienne portrayed by Barbra Streisand in the film) in a past life.  I submit for your consideration these comparison photos:

Uncanny, right? I would have chosen a better leading man than Fanny’s, though. Nick Arnstein is all flash and no substance. “I don’t like to make definite plans….it makes me feel too tied down.” PLEASE.  The movie really takes a dive after she marries him, but the first act is pure gold.

Anyway, while watching my favorite movie, I also made my favorite dinner. This is what I would have for my last meal, if I was forced to choose. (Then I would also make about 6 desserts.) Please note that all of these measurements will be approximate, because I’m not really into measuring, except when baking.

Red Curry Coconut Stir-fry with Basil-Lime Couscous (serves 6-ish)

For the stir-fry:

  • about 1 tbsp coconut oil (or vegetable or peanut oil)
  • 1 yellow squash, sliced into half-moons
  • 1 red pepper, julienned
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 (heaping) tbsp fresh ginger, minced
  • 1.5-2 tbsp red curry paste
  • 1 13.5 oz. can lite coconut milk
  • 1 c. peas, defrosted if using frozen
  • 1 c. sliced mushrooms
  • 4 scallions, sliced
  • coarsely chopped cashews to garnish

For the couscous:

  • 1 10 oz. box couscous
  • 2 c. water, vegetable stock, or a combination
  • 1 lime (zest and juice)
  • a small handful of basil leaves, sliced in thin ribbons

Couscous: In a small saucepan, bring the 2 cups of liquid and the lime zest to a boil. Pour in the couscous, remove from heat, cover, and let sit for about 5 minutes (check the package instructions for the amount of time–my box said 5 minutes). Remove the lid, juice the lime over the couscous, add the ribbons of basil, and fluff/mix the couscous with a fork.

Stir-fry: In a large frying pan, heat about one tablespoon of coconut oil over medium heat. When it’s melted, add the yellow squash, red pepper, garlic, and ginger. Cook, stirring frequently, for about 3 minutes. Add the red curry paste and stir a bit to incorporate it with the vegetables. Then pour in the coconut milk, peas, and mushroom, and simmer for about 10 minutes. Check your veggies for your desired level of doneness (I like them to be a little crunchy when done). Add the scallions at the very end of cooking. Serve the stir-fry over a scoop of the couscous, sprinkled with a few chopped cashews.

I added a little leftover baked tofu on top at the last minute. A veggie-ful feast + a movie musical = a much better mood. As the song says, “Life’s candy and the sun’s a ball of butter.” Happy weekend, food fans!

P.S. Sorry the pictures are tiny.  I switched to a different blogging program and I have yet to really figure out how to use it.

3 responses to “Funny vegetables

  1. Yum! I will definitely have to try your recipe.

  2. Divine recipe, and easy, too!

Leave a Reply

