Kicking and (ice)screaming

This evening, after a good faith effort at some studying, I tried to go to BodyPump, my new workout class of choice. (Zumba will always be first in my heart, of course, but it’s nice to switch things up now and then.) Unfortunately, I did not read the schedule correctly and ended up at a kickboxing class. This was too bad, because I lack the coordination necessary for such things. I know you wouldn’t think this is possible, but I definitely punched myself in the jaw. Twice. After suffering that kind of indignity, a girl needs some ice cream.

DSCN4833

As soon as I got home I pulled out the ingredients above, and made sure the bowl for my mom’s ice cream maker was chilling in the freezer. (I think the ice cream maker was roughly $40, and I would say it has been an excellent investment.) I hulled and roughly chopped the strawberries, and then pureed them for just a few seconds in the Magic Bullet.

DSCN4835

Then, I whisked together all of the ingredients and put them in the fridge to chill for about an hour.

DSCN4838

Once the mixture was good and cold, I turned on the ice cream maker, poured it in, and let it spin for about 12 minutes.

DSCN4841

I’m calling this “ice cream,” but it’s actually dairy-free–I’ve noticed lately that I feel better when I don’t eat much milk, cheese, yogurt, etc. It’s definitely not as rich-tasting as your typical ice cream, but it’s really refreshing and the coconut milk makes it taste like you’re on some kind of island getaway. And, it’s really pretty! So, let’s list the ingredients, shall we?

Vegan Strawberry-Coconut Ice Cream (makes about a quart)

  • 1 13.5 oz. can of coconut milk
  • 1 c. almond milk
  • 1/2 c. agave nectar
  • about 1 c. pureed strawberries

Whisk together all of the ingredients and chill for an hour or two. Pour into a running ice cream maker, and let it run until frozen enough to slow down the machine. (Mine took about 10-12 minutes.)

DSCN4849

The fanned-out strawberry on top is fancy, no? I learned that little trick during a very short-lived job at a cafe. (Customer service, much like kick-boxing, was not really my forte. But I was good at garnishes.)

That’s all for today–have a good weekend, friends!

One response to “Kicking and (ice)screaming

  1. Jenga.

Leave a Reply

